Page 1 of 2

RIA and MSBuild

Posted: Fri 23 Jul 2010 15:07
by RobIntechnica
Hi

We're using dotConnect for Oracle with RIA Services for Silverlight 3.0. We are using a dotConnect EDML file for the data model, which is accessed from Silverlight via a DomainService.

It is working fine in Visual Studio 2008 but we are having trouble getting it to compile with MSBuild. We use the Team City build system which calls MSBuild to build the solution.

The MSBuild error is:-

C:\Program Files (x86)\MSBuild\Microsoft\Silverlight\v3.0\Microsoft.Ria.Client.targets(261,5): error : Could not find the conceptual model type for 'ReportingDataModel.TRAITS'.

This is using .NET 3.5

Any ideas on what could be the problem? Thanks in advance.

Posted: Tue 27 Jul 2010 13:41
by AndreyR
Try to set MetadataArtifactProcessing to EmbedInOutputAssembly, like it is advised here.

Posted: Tue 27 Jul 2010 13:50
by RobIntechnica
AndreyR wrote:Try to set MetadataArtifactProcessing to EmbedInOutputAssembly, like it is advised here.
Hi, yes this is what it is set to already. I have tried changing this to copy to output directory also with no luck.

Our Team City CI Server is Windows Server 2003 R2 Standard x64 with SP2. Have you any other ideas on how to fix this? Thanks

Posted: Wed 28 Jul 2010 15:00
by AndreyR
Could you please send me (support * devart * com, subject "RIA MSBuild error") a small test project reproducing the error?
As a temporary workaround, could you please try to change the extension of the .edml file to .edmx? Don't forget to change Build Action to EntityDeploy.

Posted: Fri 13 Aug 2010 14:08
by RobIntechnica
Hi

Any luck with the sample project I sent?

I cannot get my Domain Service to compile on x64 when Devart Entities are used.

This works fine in a normal ASP.NET site, but not for Silverlight.

Thanks

Posted: Sun 15 Aug 2010 15:01
by RobIntechnica
Hi

I've finally managed to get it working. :D

I had to
  • * Rename entities to EDMX and change to entity deploy (as you advised above)
    * Remove the Silverlight project from my solution
    * Compile solution using 64bit MSBuild
I think the problem was a combination of neither MSBuild x86 or MSBuild x64 being able to compile the solution as a whole as Silverlight has to be 32 bit and the linked RIA site 64 bit, as well as the EDML/EDMX bug.

I compiled the Silverlight project on my local machine (x86 OS) then dropped in the XAP file later.

Posted: Mon 16 Aug 2010 09:03
by AndreyR
Glad to hear the issue is resolved.
As for the test project, we have not received it (as far as I understand, there is no need in it already, just for your information).

Posted: Mon 16 Aug 2010 09:33
by RobIntechnica
AndreyR wrote:Glad to hear the issue is resolved.
As for the test project, we have not received it (as far as I understand, there is no need in it already, just for your information).
Yes there's no need, but it was sent Thu 29/07/2010 FYI.

What's the reason for renaming the EDML to EDMX, and will this be fixed?

Can I keep it as EDMX or should I use EDML during development then change it to EDMX for deploys?

Thanks

Posted: Mon 16 Aug 2010 13:53
by AndreyR
Actually, there is no need to change the extension from .edml to .edmx.
I recommended this to remove our deployment code from consideration and narrow down the problem.
Could you please try to work with .edml? There should be no problems, generally.
Please notify me if the error persists.

Posted: Thu 02 Sep 2010 09:43
by RobIntechnica
AndreyR wrote:Actually, there is no need to change the extension from .edml to .edmx.
I recommended this to remove our deployment code from consideration and narrow down the problem.
Could you please try to work with .edml? There should be no problems, generally.
Please notify me if the error persists.
Hi

I have found that we DO need to rename the .EDML to .EDMX for it to work (and also change Build Action to EntityDeploy).

If you do not, it compiles OK, but gets "Could not find the conceptual model type..." as a run time error when the domain service is called.

Thanks

Rob

Posted: Thu 02 Sep 2010 13:18
by AndreyR
I have performed a simple test and everything worked correctly with .edmx.
Could you please send me (support * devart * com, subject "DomainService, .edml") a test project reproducing the problem?

Posted: Thu 02 Sep 2010 13:29
by RobIntechnica
AndreyR wrote:I have performed a simple test and everything worked correctly with .edmx.
Could you please send me (support * devart * com, subject "DomainService, .edml") a test project reproducing the problem?
Yes it works as EDMX. Did you mean to say EDML?

Posted: Thu 02 Sep 2010 13:52
by AndreyR
Sorry, a misprint. Yes, I was meaning .edml.

Posted: Fri 03 Sep 2010 08:26
by RobIntechnica
AndreyR wrote:I have performed a simple test and everything worked correctly with .edmx.
Could you please send me (support * devart * com, subject "DomainService, .edml") a test project reproducing the problem?
I have just sent the test project. Please can you confirm receipt? Thanks

Posted: Fri 03 Sep 2010 14:06
by AndreyR
Rob, unfortunately, we have not received anything.
You can try support * devart * com or andreyr * devart * com.
Please try once again.