RIA and MSBuild

Discussion of open issues, suggestions and bugs regarding Entity Framework support in ADO.NET Data providers
RobIntechnica
Posts: 33
Joined: Tue 09 Feb 2010 11:42
Location: Manchester, UK

RIA and MSBuild

Post by RobIntechnica » Fri 23 Jul 2010 15:07

Hi

We're using dotConnect for Oracle with RIA Services for Silverlight 3.0. We are using a dotConnect EDML file for the data model, which is accessed from Silverlight via a DomainService.

It is working fine in Visual Studio 2008 but we are having trouble getting it to compile with MSBuild. We use the Team City build system which calls MSBuild to build the solution.

The MSBuild error is:-

C:\Program Files (x86)\MSBuild\Microsoft\Silverlight\v3.0\Microsoft.Ria.Client.targets(261,5): error : Could not find the conceptual model type for 'ReportingDataModel.TRAITS'.

This is using .NET 3.5

Any ideas on what could be the problem? Thanks in advance.

AndreyR
Devart Team
Posts: 2919
Joined: Mon 07 Jul 2008 13:16

Post by AndreyR » Tue 27 Jul 2010 13:41

Try to set MetadataArtifactProcessing to EmbedInOutputAssembly, like it is advised here.

RobIntechnica
Posts: 33
Joined: Tue 09 Feb 2010 11:42
Location: Manchester, UK

Post by RobIntechnica » Tue 27 Jul 2010 13:50

AndreyR wrote:Try to set MetadataArtifactProcessing to EmbedInOutputAssembly, like it is advised here.
Hi, yes this is what it is set to already. I have tried changing this to copy to output directory also with no luck.

Our Team City CI Server is Windows Server 2003 R2 Standard x64 with SP2. Have you any other ideas on how to fix this? Thanks

AndreyR
Devart Team
Posts: 2919
Joined: Mon 07 Jul 2008 13:16

Post by AndreyR » Wed 28 Jul 2010 15:00

Could you please send me (support * devart * com, subject "RIA MSBuild error") a small test project reproducing the error?
As a temporary workaround, could you please try to change the extension of the .edml file to .edmx? Don't forget to change Build Action to EntityDeploy.

RobIntechnica
Posts: 33
Joined: Tue 09 Feb 2010 11:42
Location: Manchester, UK

Post by RobIntechnica » Fri 13 Aug 2010 14:08

Hi

Any luck with the sample project I sent?

I cannot get my Domain Service to compile on x64 when Devart Entities are used.

This works fine in a normal ASP.NET site, but not for Silverlight.

Thanks

RobIntechnica
Posts: 33
Joined: Tue 09 Feb 2010 11:42
Location: Manchester, UK

Post by RobIntechnica » Sun 15 Aug 2010 15:01

Hi

I've finally managed to get it working. :D

I had to
  • * Rename entities to EDMX and change to entity deploy (as you advised above)
    * Remove the Silverlight project from my solution
    * Compile solution using 64bit MSBuild
I think the problem was a combination of neither MSBuild x86 or MSBuild x64 being able to compile the solution as a whole as Silverlight has to be 32 bit and the linked RIA site 64 bit, as well as the EDML/EDMX bug.

I compiled the Silverlight project on my local machine (x86 OS) then dropped in the XAP file later.

AndreyR
Devart Team
Posts: 2919
Joined: Mon 07 Jul 2008 13:16

Post by AndreyR » Mon 16 Aug 2010 09:03

Glad to hear the issue is resolved.
As for the test project, we have not received it (as far as I understand, there is no need in it already, just for your information).

RobIntechnica
Posts: 33
Joined: Tue 09 Feb 2010 11:42
Location: Manchester, UK

Post by RobIntechnica » Mon 16 Aug 2010 09:33

AndreyR wrote:Glad to hear the issue is resolved.
As for the test project, we have not received it (as far as I understand, there is no need in it already, just for your information).
Yes there's no need, but it was sent Thu 29/07/2010 FYI.

What's the reason for renaming the EDML to EDMX, and will this be fixed?

Can I keep it as EDMX or should I use EDML during development then change it to EDMX for deploys?

Thanks

AndreyR
Devart Team
Posts: 2919
Joined: Mon 07 Jul 2008 13:16

Post by AndreyR » Mon 16 Aug 2010 13:53

Actually, there is no need to change the extension from .edml to .edmx.
I recommended this to remove our deployment code from consideration and narrow down the problem.
Could you please try to work with .edml? There should be no problems, generally.
Please notify me if the error persists.

RobIntechnica
Posts: 33
Joined: Tue 09 Feb 2010 11:42
Location: Manchester, UK

Post by RobIntechnica » Thu 02 Sep 2010 09:43

AndreyR wrote:Actually, there is no need to change the extension from .edml to .edmx.
I recommended this to remove our deployment code from consideration and narrow down the problem.
Could you please try to work with .edml? There should be no problems, generally.
Please notify me if the error persists.
Hi

I have found that we DO need to rename the .EDML to .EDMX for it to work (and also change Build Action to EntityDeploy).

If you do not, it compiles OK, but gets "Could not find the conceptual model type..." as a run time error when the domain service is called.

Thanks

Rob

AndreyR
Devart Team
Posts: 2919
Joined: Mon 07 Jul 2008 13:16

Post by AndreyR » Thu 02 Sep 2010 13:18

I have performed a simple test and everything worked correctly with .edmx.
Could you please send me (support * devart * com, subject "DomainService, .edml") a test project reproducing the problem?

RobIntechnica
Posts: 33
Joined: Tue 09 Feb 2010 11:42
Location: Manchester, UK

Post by RobIntechnica » Thu 02 Sep 2010 13:29

AndreyR wrote:I have performed a simple test and everything worked correctly with .edmx.
Could you please send me (support * devart * com, subject "DomainService, .edml") a test project reproducing the problem?
Yes it works as EDMX. Did you mean to say EDML?

AndreyR
Devart Team
Posts: 2919
Joined: Mon 07 Jul 2008 13:16

Post by AndreyR » Thu 02 Sep 2010 13:52

Sorry, a misprint. Yes, I was meaning .edml.

RobIntechnica
Posts: 33
Joined: Tue 09 Feb 2010 11:42
Location: Manchester, UK

Post by RobIntechnica » Fri 03 Sep 2010 08:26

AndreyR wrote:I have performed a simple test and everything worked correctly with .edmx.
Could you please send me (support * devart * com, subject "DomainService, .edml") a test project reproducing the problem?
I have just sent the test project. Please can you confirm receipt? Thanks

AndreyR
Devart Team
Posts: 2919
Joined: Mon 07 Jul 2008 13:16

Post by AndreyR » Fri 03 Sep 2010 14:06

Rob, unfortunately, we have not received anything.
You can try support * devart * com or andreyr * devart * com.
Please try once again.

Post Reply